Laval University Won Heroes of the Dorm 2018 North America Championship

The The Rouge et Au of Laval University won the Heroes of the Dorm 2018 North America Championship, receiving full tuition for their collegiate expenses. The Rouge et Au became the uncontested champions after a streak of wins with no defeats during the Heroic Four and Grand Finals.

Our own event correspondent attended Heroes of the Dorm, and took behind-the-scenes photos.


Heroes of the Dorm 2017 Champions Press Conference

On Saturday, April 18th, at the University of Nevada’s Las Vegas Cox Pavilion Arena, the four best collegiate Heroes of the Storm teams clashed to win the Heroes of the Dorm National Championship and its full College Tuition grand prize. Among the teams in the Heroic Four were:


The Heroic Four Matchups started at 1pm PT with Lousiana State University (LSU) vs University of Kentucky, and University of Texas at Arlington (UTA) vs University of California Irvine (UCI).

The Grand Finals were fought between UTA and LSU, with Blizzard Entertainment crowning UTA as the Heroes of the Dorm National Champions. You can check out the brackets, and the team bios for: LSU, UCI, Kentucky, and UTA.

Our correspondent, dperschonok (Naka) attended the event in Las Vegas and brought audio of each team’s press conference, plus another press conference after the champions were crowned. Watch the video below to listen to the audio. Check also the photos and the official press release after the video.

Blizzplanet: 2016 Heroes of the Dorm Press Coverage

Dperschonok traveled to Seattle to witness the Heroes of the Dorm tournament, and brought back audio of the Heroes of the Dorm champions press conference held at the end of the tournament.

Blizzplanet: 2016 Heroes of the Dorm Press Coverage

Arizona State’s Real Dream Team crowned themselves as the winners of Heroes of the Dorm.


Watch the Heroes of the Dorm Preview Show with Kevin Johnson (Cloaken), Tim Fraizer (Trikslyr), and Jake Kulinski (SolidJake):


Listen to the Champions Press Conference (audio):


Press Release

IRVINE, Calif. — Thousands of student gamers from hundreds of schools across the U.S. and Canada took part in the second season of Blizzard Entertainment’s Heroes of the Dorm®—a no-holds-barred collegiate tournament of epic proportions held in partnership with Tespa and featuring Blizzard’s online team brawler, Heroes of the Storm™.

After fighting their way through a formidable pool of challengers, four teams of college students—the ‘Real Dream Team’ from Arizona State University , the runner-up from last year’s tournament; the University of Connecticut ‘Tricky Turtles’; ‘Dark Blaze’ representing the University of Texas , Arlington ; and ‘We Volin’ from the University of Tennessee—took to the stage at the CenturyLink Event Center in Seattle on a quest to become the 2016 Heroes of the Storm collegiate champions.

After defeating UConn in the semifinals, Arizona State continued its unbeaten streak by going 3-0 against UT Arlington . ASU claimed the first two games of the best-of-five series in decisive fashion, but game three quickly turned into a thrilling tug-of-war—and while UT Arlington appeared to rally in the closing moments, ASU ultimately emerged victorious, earning the title of this year’s Heroes of the Dorm.

Each member of Arizona State University’s Real Dream Team will be receiving the tournament grand prize—tuition to cover the remainder of their college careers.

“The future of collegiate esports is only going up from here,” said Arizona State University player Austin ‘Shot’ Lonsert. “This was huge. [Heroes of the Dorm] was big last year, and it only got bigger. We’d like to thank everyone who made this happen. It wouldn’t have happened without the support of our moms—including @Momma_Shot_HOTS on Twitter—Bill Kennedy and the ASU Athletics Department , and all of our fans.”

Viewers watching the nonstop action were treated to expert play-by-play and commentary from the announcing team of Dan ‘Artosis’ Stemkoski, Nick ‘Tasteless’ Plott, Jaycie ‘Gillyweed’ Gluck, and Tim ‘Trikslyr’ Frazier.

The “Heroic Four” championship match and closing ceremony aired in prime time on ESPN2. The Heroic Four was televised live on ESPNU and streamed live on ESPN3 through WatchESPN, and streamed outside of the United States on YouTube and

“Congratulations to our 2016 Heroes of the Dorm, the Real Dream Team from Arizona State University , on an awesome tournament run and for going undefeated in the grand finals,” said Mike Morhaime , CEO and cofounder of Blizzard Entertainment . “The teams competing in Heroes of the Dorm represent the future of competitive gaming, and it’s been a thrill to watch these collegiate athletes in action. We appreciate all the students and college sports fans who took part in this year’s competition, and we hope they’ll join us for even more exciting esports action leading up to BlizzCon this November.”


Heroes of the Dorm | Photos

Heroes of the Dorm has come to a close with the CAL BERKELEY Team crowning themselves the winners of the tournament. The event was broadcast by ESPN, and we are likely going to hear soon about record-breaking audience numbers for an eSports video game. Twitter was flooded constantly with the trending #HeroesoftheDorm hashtag.

Naka (@dperschonok) attended the Heroes of the Dorm tournament held at Los Angeles. Danny enjoyed the event and had the opportunity to talk with lead game designer Dustin Browder, recruiter Azuriel (@vmaun) and licensing coordinator Kieu Le (@kieutiepie).

Chocolate Rain-famed Tay Zonday was at the event — Naka can be seen on the right side of the photo.

Heroes of the Dorm | Photos

Heroes of the Dorm | Photos

Here are some of the photos taken at the Shrine Expo Hall in Los Angeles.

World of Warcraft® and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with or endorsed by Blizzard Entertainment®.

Copyright © All Rights Reserved